Chickweed

We have a lot of chickweed growing on the farm right now.  Huge patches of it are springing up all over the place.

Here is a pretty informative video on my favorite weed.  It’s bit long, but if you want to be sure that you’ve found chickweed this video covers quite a bit on identification.  I was able to reproduce the finding of the elastic cord in my chickweed.  I had never heard of it before and it was fun to try.  The video says that chickweed tastes like corn silk and it might, but I think it tastes like mellow grass.  It has a very green and fresh taste about it.

Susun Weed waxes poetic about chickweed here.  She’s got a unique and refreshing viewpoint of herbs.   I’m especially fond of how she personifies plants and gives them a memorable tale.  It is so much more interesting than a dry list of benefits.

After reading this bit on Susun Weed’s site, I’ll be adding more chickweed into my diet for sure.  ” Yes, you heard me correctly, drinking chickweed infusion can eliminate fat cells. I put one ounce of dried herb (I weigh it) in a quart jar and fill it to the top with boiling water. I cap it tightly and wait for at least four hours, then strain and drink it, hot or cold, with honey or miso. What I don’t consume right away, I store in the refrigerator. A quart a day is not too much to drink, but even two cups a day can help you shed those unwanted pounds. (Do remember though that subcutaneous fat, the kind you can pinch, is healthy for women, so don’t get too thin.)

Usually, chickweed makes it into my smoothies and maybe my salad.  Since variety makes the world go round, I thought it might be time to try a new recipe for Stellaria media (Side note:  Stellaria was on my baby name list for a while for our youngest, but it didn’t make the cut).  I found this chickweed pesto recipe over at Girl In An Apron.  Girl In An Apron has a lot of great recipes on her blog.  I’m looking forward to making more.

The plan is to serve it on some white fish for dinner.  I ate quite a bit of it with carrots and cucumber for lunch and it is amazing.

Chickweed Pesto

*3 cups fresh chickweed
*3 cloves garlic
*1/2 cup olive oil
*1 tsp sea salt
*fresh ground pepper
*zest from 1/2 lemon
*1/2 cup toasted sunflower seeds, or toasted pine nuts, or pecans, or walnuts. . .whatever you have.

Rinse chickweed well. Spin in a salad spinner to dry. Blend chickweed, garlic, salt, pepper, lemon zest and seeds/nuts in a food processor briefly. With blade still in motion slowly pour in olive oil to create a paste. Serve on meat or fish, toss with roasted fingerling potatoes or pasta or spread on sourdough. Enjoy the taste of Spring!

Dinner Update:  The chickweed pesto on white fish had mixed reviews.  The adults loved it and gobbled it up, one child ate it but thought it was just OK, and two wouldn’t even try it.  I’m not going to let this discourage me.  The kids get a little weird when I put new food on their plates.   Especially if it’s green.

I think there is a little pesto left over that will be going into my eggs this morning.  Yum!

Happy Spring!

11 Comments on “Chickweed”

  1. Vanessa says:

    I’ll have to give it a try. 🙂

  2. I hope you do, Vanessa. I put the leftover pesto on my eggs yesterday morning, and it was delicious! You know, one of the benefits of kids not liking the pesto, is more for me 😉

  3. I think the stuff is pretty.

  4. barefootnmama says:

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!! This post wins post of the year from me:)) LOVE

  5. j meyers says:

    I’ve never heard of chickweed. I’m going to have to scope out our yard to see if we have any. I’m intrigued!

  6. j meyers says:

    I’ve never heard of chickweed before. Now I’m going to have to scope out our yard to see if we have any. I’m intrigued!

  7. […] Chickweed, Also, a blog post on Chickweed from The bewitching […]

  8. […] Chickweed, Also, a blog post on Chickweed from The bewitching […]

  9. […] Chickweed, Also, a blog post on Chickweed from The bewitching […]


Leave a Reply

