The perfect weekend.

We had the most glorious weekend of sun, sun and more sun.  This was the first weekend this year of barefoot weather, sun dresses, eating al fresco, mowing the grass and being outside all day… for two whole days!

We worked most of the weekend on the top bar hives for the bees that are coming soon.  I had a lot of help from everyone in the family and we couldn’t have gotten nearly so far without them.  We are nearly ready to put the screens on the bottom and then make the entrance holes.  Hopefully, I’ll get some pictures of the hives taken today.

I found a fabulous video showing exactly how a top bar hive works and what they look like.

I didn’t feel like I had time to install windows into my hives (my bees could be here as early as next weekend), so I’m going to have to make do without.  Perhaps the next set of hives that I make will have them.

While out in the yurt, I found a bag of beeswax chips that I had purchased a few years ago.  I need a brick of beeswax to finish up the hives so the chips got melted down and poured into a soap mold.  I had nearly five pounds of organic wax just lying around.   I’m sure it’s more than I need.

It’s amazing when you have exactly what you need to finish a project on hand.   I’m pretty sure that’s just the universe letting me know, like always, that things are on the right path and that I should be happy.

4 Comments on “The perfect weekend.”

  1. It’s gonna bee awesome when we get the bee’s!!

  2. Jenn says:

    Bees have been on my list of “must haves” for the last couple of years, but it always seems that when I think about needing to order some, all the providers are sold out! My goal this year is to get the hives done this summer (a friend has some extras and we may be able to get one from him) and the bees ordered ASAP for next season!
    What sources have you used to research beekeeping? I’m looking for some good ones, preferably books I can hold in my hand and highlight. I’m kinda old-fashioned that way. 🙂

    • I hope you do get your bees Jenn! Around here, a January pre-order of bees is sufficient for the spring. My favorite books so far are: The Barefoot Beekeeper, The Practical Beekeeper, The Backyard Beekeeper, and Natural Beekeeping. Here are a couple of links to some great info as well. http://anarchyapiaries.org/ http://www.biobees.com/ http://www.bushfarms.com/bees.htm Do as much reading as you can on the subject and if you have a bee keeping society in your area join it. Our local club is very informative. I’m in the minority with my natural beekeeping ways and have only found one other beekeeper there that doesn’t use chemicals, foundations and tons of unnecessary interventions and practices. You may also want to join some online groups. Yahoo has an organic beekeepers group and facebook has a few as well. You can learn so much by lurking. Good luck with your trees!


Leave a Reply

