Raw Granola

The more I pay attention to how the food I eat makes me feel, the more I’m realizing that grains are not my friends.  If you have any kind of chronic ailment, I’d try 30 days without grains and see how you feel.  For  years I was plagued with fibromyalgia pain and migraines and when I eat a grain free/low sugar diet my body sings!  There are loads of resources on why you should be grain free and here’s one.  I really never feel better than when I’m eating clean.

I wish I can say that I was religious about my eating and I never faltered…  I’m getting there.  One day I’ll be one of those clean eating gurus with crazy amounts of energy and healthy food flying about when I wave my hands.  I just know it.  In the mean time, I’m working on making small changes that will be lasting changes.  Starting with breakfast.

I can’t eat eggs every day.  I just can’t do it.  I like eggs, I love my chickens.. but I’m just not one of those peeps that can eat the same food day in and day out and not get bored out of their skulls.  Some mornings, I’m so stinking tired that anything that takes more effort than shoveling some kibble into a bowl and pouring milk on top is too much.  So you know, cereal is a must on these mornings.  Obviously, cereal is almost always full of grains so I looked around until I found a grain free granola recipe that sounded edible.

Here’s a little video on soaking and sprouting buckwheat.  I thought for a long time that it was a grain and also wheat, but I was wrong.  It’s actually a seed of a plant that is closely related to the rhubarb plant.  I didn’t actually sprout the buckwheat in my granola, but I think I will next time.

Choosing Raw posted this recipe for The Only Raw Vegan Granola Recipe That You’ll Ever Need.  That was a lofty title and I figured with a name like that, I had better try it out.   I’m glad I did.  It made a very good breakfast.  You could easily make changes to the nuts, seeds and fruits to change it up if you get easily bored like I do.

Choosing Raw Granola (raw, vegan, gluten and soy free)

Yields about 3 cups

1 cup soaked and dehydrated buckwheat
2 tbsp ground flaxseed
1/3 cup sunflower seeds
1/3 cup pumpkin seeds
1/3 cup raisins
1/3 cup dried, chopped apples
1/3 cup maple syrup (agave is also fine)
1 tbsp coconut or flax oil
2 tbsp water
1 tsp cinnamon
Dash nutmeg
Dash salt

1) Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.

2) Whisk together the maple syrup, water, coconut oil, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Pour over dry ingredients and mix them well with your hands. If you’d like to make a sweeter granola, you can add another tbsp maple syrup, or a few drops of stevia; the amount listed is intended only to add gentle sweetness and to bind the granola together.

3) Dehydrate at 115 degrees for about 10-12 hours, or until granola is sticky but adhering firmly. Refrigerate till ready to use; this will help maintain crunch and texture!

My notes on the recipe:

1.  I really would fully sprout the buckwheat before  making into granola next time.

2.  Next time, I’m going to use less sweetener.  I used 1/3 cup agave and found it too sweet.  Also I’m going to try maple syrup.

3.  I dehydrated at 105* and it took nearly 3 days to get to crisp enough to be considered done.  I’m not really sure if 105 is better than 115, but 3 days is a long time to dehydrate anything.  Especially if your giant Excalibur dehydrator is taking up precious space in your kitchen.

Enjoy!

5 Comments on “Raw Granola”

  1. gena says:

    Thanks for trying it!!! I’m so happy you enjoyed.

  2. Liesl says:

    This looks good!

  3. Vanessa says:

    Buckwheat is soo yummy, I like that it has a sort of maple taste to it. At least it does to me. This recipe looks really good, I’d like to give it a try, I’ll let you know if I do. Also if you are feeling like hot cereal you can cook buckwheat as you might oats and it’s pretty good, I don’t remember how long to cook it though.


Leave a Reply

