The Bees Have Arrived

We got our bees yesterday.  On Earth Day.  It was just perfect.  Please enjoy these pictures.  I’m still processing the experience and will write all about it when I’ve figured out what to say.

Hoping your weekend was great!

Package of Carneolans

Bee package stragglers going into Top Bar Hive

Bee activity around top bar hive

Busy bee already going to work.

Bees gathering around the entrance of the top bar hive.

Investigating from a distance.

12 Comments on “The Bees Have Arrived”

  1. keileigh says:

    This is truly awesome. It sounds crazy, but your pictures actually gave me chills. It makes me sad every summer to realize how few honeybees are around anymore, and to see so many in your pictures is just wonderful. Thanks for sharing, and I’m so excited for you! Wonder if I can ever talk Ben into bees…

    • I hope you guys do get bees! I’m not what you would call the most daring person in the world and I did it… so I’m pretty sure anyone could.

      It is startling seeing the decline in bees around, that’s one of the reasons that we decided to keep them at our farm.

  2. Jenn says:

    Yay! How exciting! So, how come they don’t just fly away in to the wild blue yonder when you release them? How do they know the hive is HOME? What if they don’t like the interior decorating and just vamoose? Inquiring minds want to know!

    • It is exciting! It was so nerve wracking getting ready to do it yesterday, I just finally had to jump in.

      The bees are very attached to the queen. She gives off a scent that makes them stay near and she was installed in the hive in a cage. I’ll post a few pictures of the process tomorrow with the hiving story.

      They could just fly out once the queen is released. Some swarms have even left a hive with the queen still in the cage. Part of keeping the bees in the hive is preparation, the other part is luck.

      Hoping to be lucky!

  3. barefootnmama says:

    I am so so so excited for you! Also, excited about following your bee keeping journey and maybe learning a little something:))

  4. Vanessa says:

    ❤ LOVE the pictures! I especially like one with the beehives in the background and you can see bees buzzing around them. Very nice!

  5. gorgeous photo of Bodhi in the grass – kissed by sun


Leave a Reply

