This morning.

Wondering:  Where the time has gone.

Enjoying:  This boy’s pride in his work.

Thankful:  For her interest in all things, not just pink things.

Smiling: At creativity and silliness in the toy aisle.

Curious:  Where this imagination will take him.

Thinking:  About what next year will hold for them.

Surprised:  That they let us get so close.

Giggling: At the cat that wants to catch a chicken, but always chickens out.

We had a very busy morning today complete with : Muffins for Moms at Ethan’s (and soon to be Carter’s) school, wasting a bit of time at the toy aisle, signing up for 3 day a week preschool for Bodhi, and checking on the animals when we got home.

Things are changing here in a big way.

Kids are growing and making plans, mom is feeling a bit unprepared for all of the changes and growth.  I’m finding it difficult to let go of our previous plans to always home school.  Tears are streaming down my face as I type.  This is much harder than I thought.  My boys are intrepid and excited for this experience, it is their choice and they are thrilled.  I’m doing my best to put my hopes and expectations aside to meet the needs and desires of my children with a smile on my face.  To let them know that no matter what they choose for themselves that I will support them.

I’m not sure what my days will look like this fall when for the first time in six years I’m not planning for lessons or teaching… well.. anything.  I’ll have some time to myself a few mornings a week.  I don’t yet know how I’ll fill them.  I haven’t had time like that in almost eleven years.

Thankfully, I have some time to adjust and to get used to these new plans.

7 Comments on “This morning.”

  1. Jenn says:

    Love this!

    And, I’m so, so, so grateful to see someone else’s kid also insists on wearing rubber boots out in public like it ain’t no thang! 🙂

  2. you will have more time to write! you’re so good at this

  3. ah the ever changing moments of mamahood. i’m sure it will take a bit to adjust, but i’m also sure, even from just starting to follow your writing, that you will fill up that time with all sorts of interesting things 🙂

    • Motherhood is full of changes. Those that adapt survive, right? I figure once the shock wears off, I’ll enjoy my six hours of alone time a week immensely. There is a lot that can be done. I hope I don’t squander it on things like cleaning and grocery shopping.

  4. Oh what a really great bunch you have there! You must be so very proud of them. Hugs from one mother to another, Sharon


Leave a Reply

