Weekending

This weekend was amazing!  We did so very much and had such a great time.  I got completely spoiled for Mother’s Day.  Tile for my project, plants for the yard and a bottle of good Gin for when the best job in the world has a rough day.  For the most part, I spent the weekend working on the tile floor in the yurt.  It’s going slower than I thought it would (typical) but it’s turning out beautiful.

Frank processed the first seven of his chickens.  I intended on watching him do at least one bird, but I chickened out.  A few years ago, we processed some turkeys and I could never bring myself to eat them.  I preserved my nerves and was able to eat the most magnificent chicken enchiladas that I’ve ever tasted last night.  Frank was very proud of raising the meat that was on our table, and I was proud of him.  It’s a big deal lessening our dependence on the grocery store for all of our needs.

Here’s the first progress shots of the tile floor.  I figure most of the week will be spent in the yurt tiling the floor.  For some reason, I thought I should make a self-imposed deadline of   May 25th to complete the floors.  Frank’s parents will be in town for the weekend and I really wanted beautiful floors to show them.  We shall see if it was a great plan that gets me done in a hurry or if it’s unnecessary pressure that I put on  myself.  Time will tell.

9 Comments on “Weekending”

  1. Jenn says:

    OH, wow, that floor is AMAZING! Such creativity. I love it.

    We processed 13 big broilers this weekend…once you get into a rhythm it’s fast and relatively easy. It’s quick and humane for the birds, and I know my meat is CLEAN. My freezer is chock full of chicken!

    • Thanks Jenn. I’m having a good time with the floor. It’s just how I imagined it would be.

      Having food you can trust to be safe for your family is so important. I really do plan on helping Frank with the process, I just have to get my courage up. 13 chickens! That’s fantastic. How long did that take? Do you have a plucker? We don’t and Frank did a very good job without, but it took a while. We are thinking of getting or making one.

  2. Heather says:

    That floor is fantastic.

  3. Jane says:

    wow!!! this looks amazing!!!

  4. Gorgeous mosaic, and horray! to your husband for raising your food. So much more humane than factory farms.

  5. gorgeous!!! will you grout the larger spaces in between the dark grey tiles? i’ve always wanted to to a tile mosaic, perhaps one day. you’re doing an amazing job!

    • Thank you! Once I get all of the tiles in place, then I’ll grout in between them. I’ve never done any tile work, and have only made on mosaic in my life. Hopefully, the end result with our floor is what we are hoping for.


Leave a Reply

