Farm Visiting

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We had the good fortune of meeting some local farmers last weekend.  I contacted them after seeing an add for Icelandic  fleece.  The owner and I sent a few emails back and forth and we scheduled a visit.  They had an incredible assortment of animals and the kids were in love with them all.

We’ve been talking about getting sheep next spring.  We’d like some help with the mowing and naturally, I’d like some fiber.  Icelandics are what I call a triple threat sheep as they are good for fiber, milk and meat.  We had a lot of our questions answered about sheep and Frank is fully confident that we can do this.

Sheep!  We are getting sheep!

8 Comments on “Farm Visiting”

  1. wow, that’s exciting! i’ve secretly always wanted sheep…
    how many are you planning on getting?

    • I know, right? We are over the moon excited. I’m guessing we’ll start with three or so just to get used to taking care of them. I figure we could handle 30 sheep on our property, but that’s something we can grow into slowly. I’ve wanted sheep for years now. It’s exciting to be working toward that goal. Yay!

  2. Vanessa says:

    I’m so excited for you!!!! I can hardly wait! 🙂

  3. I wanted two miniature sheep, but my neighbors put their foot down. I figured I’d never have to cut the grass again. 🙂

  4. Jenn says:

    My only warning about sheep is this: They are very, very, very skillful escape artists so your fence has to be very well constructed. If it’s not, they will help themselves to your garden and other delicious plants you’d prefer they NOT eat. Other than that, I love sheep, they are fun and bucolic to have on the farm.

    • I’ve heard that about sheep! Frank has been looking into solar powered electric fencing panels. That sounds like it should do the trick. They are such darling creatures. I can’t wait to get them. Kinda giddy about it, actually. Next spring feels like a long way off.


Leave a Reply

